Secret of the Universe

Breathe in. Now, breathe out. Are you ready for this? I’ve stumbled upon what might be a staggering truth of the universe, kept hidden inside a tiny bed and breakfast outside of Hagerstown, MD. Her name is Selena. During my husband’s and my brief first night away since Asher was born over five years ago, as we celebrated our seventh wedding anniversary, Selena, the b and b owner, told stories amid pouring libations and slicing cheese. And then told more, after a gourmet breakfast of Dutch pancakes, waffles with homemade whip cream, and a deep dish egg dish. (Nod to Dr. Seuss.)

The blur of a one night stay was heavenly, but that’s not for the telling tonight. What’s on tap at the bard house is Selena: a former PGA tournament golfer with a masters in organization and planning who now runs a bed and breakfast out of an old farm house, owned by her family for four generations. She and her husband, Andrew, spent two years of their lives renovating the house full-time. And opened the place earlier this year.

Within hours of driving away from Selena’s farm, it should be called, I realized that woman has accomplished an incredible amount in her life. Granted, she doesn’t have children crawling up her leg or tackling her in the living room. Instead, as Eric put it, “she puts that energy into life.”

Organization and planning are two words that might as well be old English in my vocabulary. Those words could be dusty and tattered if they were books on my shelf.

In my moments of stillness this week, when I have allowed the rushing river of work and life to flow around me without taking me under, I’ve thought about Selena. I’ve realized that simple planning and organization can help any of us move mountains that we think are insurmountable.

I am on a new quest, perhaps its slow and steady, and I might even lose my way, but I am on it. Placing cairns along the way to an organized existence. Now, if I can just remember where I put those cairns?

Leave a Reply

