Some Things

…I am learning on the eve of turning 43. You don’t necessary “deserve” it just because it’s your birthday. What you do deserve, however, is to turn off the ringer. To close the email. To not finish your work. You can start appreciating yourself and your life on this delicate planet. Today, it’s your right.

Here’s what I’ve been appreciating today: King Lear, a coffee shop, my husband, a store bought chocolate cake, a home-cooked meal, bare early- winter trees, a sink of dishes, a small boy’s love, and what I like to call “lounge grading.”

I am so grateful for the small things today. And I couldn’t ask for more.

Leave a Reply

