Holding down, climbing up

There is a picture of me at about age five. I am smiling in the sunshine with my straight-cut bangs and Dorothy Hamill bowl-shaped hairdo. I was really cute. Had a great big grin. Wore brown saddle shoes that made click-clack sounds on the sidewalk. I was, as my Aunt Lee often described me, “Happy.”

And then, as I got a little older, that giant smile began to fade. Seriousness and shyness set in from living in a household that was too dry for my watering requirements. I guess you could say, I spent my childhood in the wrong climate, and eventually, I wilted. My soil hardened.

That was a long, long time ago. We’re talking mid to late 70’s. (Which means I am going on 44, if you are wondering.)

But that image has remained with me, a bookmark to the “before” period in my life. Before my father’s stern, militant reign over our household took its toll on me. I could only hear “stop crying” after a bike spill or “look it up” when I didn’t know something, so many times. I maxed out on the number of days I could withstand my dad’s utter disdain for the females in his household. I stopped being able to smile through the harsh looks and the cold shoulders. Finally, eventually, I started fading into the background of my own life. I began trying not to be noticed because being noticed so often meant feeling shame.

Fortunately, time moves on, and that crumpled flower of a girl re-bloomed into something grander, something more impenetrable. A steel magnolia comes to mind, but that seems a little silly, I know. However, despite the passage of time and the strength regained, here we are. The divide between Father and Daughter, Men and Women, Us and Them couldn’t be stronger.

The wound that I thought was healing has been reopened. We’ve elected Trump as President, and I can’t help but feel Daddy has put us in our place again. We were wrong to stretch our wings, to leave the nest (and for a more eco-friendly tree house! How could we?) We thought we could kiss those women and still be loved. That we could run that board room without fear of being felt up in the copy room. We thought so many things, didn’t we? And here we are.

I kind of feel like the bigger kid looking at the Kansas cornfield smile on my five-year-old self’s face, going “Wha?” That was me? That was us? We were….carefree, thinking that slugs and ladybugs could live in the same small Mason jar just fine – assuming everyone had enough air holes and grass.

The good news is, I grew out of Daddy’s shadow once. It took a long time, it’s true. But the thing about climbing is, that eventually you get high enough to feel the sun again. Eventually, you find the glacier has melted just enough for you to take an afternoon swim.

You find you’ve built stamina, and that the enormous summit you had to reach wasn’t so high after all. It just took one foot in front of the other. In front of the other. Head down. Boots strapped tight. Until you were miles and miles above the men who held you down.

1 thought on “Holding down, climbing up”

Leave a Reply

